How Can We Help You?

Questions? Comments? Let us know, we'd love to hear from you.

Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Typing.com cost?

Typing.com is free! Make sure to register for a free account to save your typing progress and statistics! Typing.com displays fun and interesting ads to help pay for the cost of building and maintaining Typing.com. If you would prefer not to see advertisements, you can upgrade to a Premium Account and you will never see another ad again.

I am trying to add my students but I get an error message that says username already taken.

We use a shared student username database. When you try to create a username it is checked against every other student in our system, just like trying to register for an email address with Google. You will notice that the most common usernames are already "in use" by other students in other schools. To avoid this, make sure that the usernames you choose are as unique as possible.

How do students reset lost passwords?

You can reset your students' passwords from the Classes page of your Teacher Portal.

I purchased Ad-Free licences. Why do I still see ads on the students accounts?

You will need to assign the licences to your students. To assign the licences to your students click on the Manage Premium Licences link at the very top of your teacher portal. Once there you will have the ability to upgrade and downgrade your students.

My student has two teachers who use Typing.com. How can I add another teacher so they can also view students progress.

The Typing.com Teacher's Portal allows a single account when logging into the portal. If you want other teachers to have access to your students' data, you should share your entry credentials.

I accidentally deleted my student's account, can I recover the data from that account?

Unfortunately once an account has been deleted the data can not be recovered.

'How is the time spent typing calculated?

Time spent typing is calculated from the time the student starts and stops typing on the keyboard in a lesson screen. It also includes the timed tests. The time does not include the time it takes to move from one lesson to another or time spent on games.

Can I disable the backspace key?

The backspace key can be disabled.

I do not want my students to view the Class Scoreboard, can this be disabled?

Yes, the Scoreboard can be disabled from within your Teacher Portal, on the Account page, under Enable Class Scoreboard.